A Walk on the Beach

© Copyright 2011 by Joel R. Hall – All Rights Reserved

I abandon my sandals by the steps to the boardwalk over the dunes
So my bare feet leave paw prints in the morning’s wet sand
Which oozes up through the cracks between my toes.

The gulls overhead scream their morning tunes
Like a flock of drunk rockers in an air-borne band,
The melody mixing with the sizzle of the surf in its morning throes.

I note how my tracks vanish quickly like magical runes
As the waves, rushing up to vanquish the land,
Simply close up the wounds of my tracks so no one else knows

That ever my bare feet strolled twixt the waves and the dunes.
Funny how time acts just like that sand…
Wash in the new to cover the old. That’s just how life goes.

© Copyright 2011 by Joel R. Hall – All Rights Reserved

About Joel Hall

Onward through the fog!
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Walk on the Beach

  1. Pat Cegan says:

    Oh I like this so much, Joel, especially:
    Funny how time acts just like that sand,
    Wash in the new to cover the old. That’s just how life goes.

    This Monday I was upset about something that was going to happen on Tuesday. Tuesday I was even more upset when it happened. Wednesday I felt tired and drained by the whole thing. Thursday I was sorry I had wasted two days on such nonsense. Today I can’t remember what it way. LOL, yes, the tide washed it away. Time has a way of just putting this into perspective. Thanks for your reminder. Lovely write, hugs, pat

  2. love the wisdom in your words.
    smiles.

    Hello,

    Hope all is well.

    Appreciated your support to Jingle Poetry Community, your inputs add light to our place, we would love to see you around weekly…

    Welcome sharing your talent in our new garden home.

    Random piece or old ones are welcome too.

    Bless you.
    Happy End of August.
    Hope to see you share today.
    xoxox

  3. poets rally says:

    how do you do.

    http://promisingpoetsparkinglot.blogspot.com/2011/08/perfect-poets-award-for-poets-rally.html

    an award for you, join poets rally during sept 8-14, 2011, thanks a lot.

Leave a Reply

