I Fall Down

© Copyright 2008, 2011 by Joel R. Hall – All Rights Reserved

I seek to bless but somehow frighten…
I fall down.
I ask the Lord my soul to lighten…
I fall down.
I seek the Truth. Falsehood confounds me…
I fall down.
I seek the Way. Thick fog surrounds me…
I fall down.
I seek to walk but my feet falter…
I fall down.
I kneel in prayer before the alter…
I fall down.
I seek the Light but darkness binds me…
I fall down.
I seek the way but my pride blinds me…
I fall down.

Like Lot I search in vain for just
One righteous person I can trust…
I fall down.

And if a human vow you choose
To trust the chances are you lose,
For promises, like rules, are token,
Always made to just be broken.
I fall down.
You fall down.
We all fall down.

© Copyright 2008, 2011 by Joel R. Hall – All Rights Reserved

About Joel Hall

Onward through the fog!
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I Fall Down

  1. Grå Sky says:

    This is beautiful…. such struggle, such pain and doubt. The search for meaning in the land of uncertainty -our human condition. Chances are you lose, and losing means hurt. But just like rules are made to be broken, so too are we as people. Writing about it, sharing our own brokenness I think allows us to grow stronger, to connects and become whole. Powerful poem, thanks so much for sharing it.

  2. Fountains says:

    The rhythm reminded me of a skipping rope song, so the ending was fitting. Very strong.

  3. David says:

    When I fall, which is constantly, I fix my eyes on Yeshua’s bloody knees, as a reminder of the painful falls that He endured for me.

    David

  4. beautiful thank you for sharing

  5. Pat Cegan says:

    Ah, true that only our Creator is perfect. On the other hand, how many times does a toddler fall down before he learns to walk? But he does learn to walk. The good news is that no matter how many times we fall down, or that people break our trust (or we theirs), our Creator is always there to help us get up and try again. Nice to meet you. Thank you for visiting my blog! hugs, pat

Leave a Reply

