God Dreams

© Copyright 2011 by Joel R. Hall – All Rights Reserved

Over the years, I have had a  small number of dreams that have been so different from any and all other dreams I have ever experienced, that I have come to refer to them as “God dreams”.

What, you may ask, is a God dream? The best way I know to answer that question is to simply list the distinguishing characteristics.

  • They are super exceedingly vivid and realistic.
  • I am always in the dream.
  • At some point, I always become completely aware that I am dreaming and frequently end up “watching” my dream as if I am at a movie. My observer self is always totally and completely aware that I am watching a dream from within a dream state and is also completely aware of what my dream-within-a-dream self is thinking and feeling, while my dream-within-a-dream self is entirely unaware of my observer self.
  • Extra information is always directly dumped into my mind concerning meanings of things seen in the dream. This frequently continues for a few minutes after I awake.
  • I always wake up from a God dream in a heightened state of awareness and agitation: my heart and brain racing, my emotions hyper-flooded.
  • I always feel Him there and sometimes see Him as part of the dream-within-a-dream.
  • I always receive information about things – the future, the nature of our universe, my inner self – that were previously hidden from me.
  • I am always able to remember the dream vividly and in complete detail from that time on. It is as if it has been burned into my brain.

The very first God dream I had was immediately upon returning to my body after my death. Since then, I have had a few more, but they are rare and very precious to me. They are meant as a blessing to me, but more importantly, as a blessing to all. I hope you can find your blessing in them.

One thing I want to make crystal clear: I am not special or “holy” because He chooses to send me dreams or even call me into death. I can not state strongly enough that I am truly the very least of the least. I have no “hotline to God” and have never worked a miracle. I am simply a man that has struggled to make his way in a life that, all too often, has seemed to make no sense and had no purpose. I struggle constantly. I am far from perfect. I hurt people. I can be arrogant, selfish, petty, rude, impatient, deceitful, cruel, lazy, narcissistic, greedy, uncaring – in short – a dark and fallen human. I have known sorrow so deep I thought I would drown in it and have acted so blindly selfish as to hurt the innocent to the point that I came to loath myself. It is only by the grace of my Lord Yeshua that I live. It is only in that grace that I have hope.

And so it is that I write these things down. He has made it clear that these things must be shared, but like Joseph, who was despised by his brothers when he shared his God dreams, I know that sharing mine may similarly cost me. Many will focus on the messenger instead of the message. So be it. There is nothing I can do about that. It is scary to share what He has revealed to me, but I can not refuse Him after all He has done for me. In obedience I share. The rest is up to Him… and you.

Shalom.

© Copyright 2011 by Joel R. Hall – All Rights Reserved

About Joel Hall

Onward through the fog!
This entry was posted in Affidavit, Autobiography, God Dream, Spiritual Living and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to God Dreams

  1. Pingback: The Diner by the River | Simply Put

  2. Pat Cegan says:

    Joel, I have had similar experiences that you describe as you “God Dreams” but mine come as visions while I am meditating or sometimes, they just happen spontaneously. It took me a while to understand what was happening especially as I did not talk about them. But reading your story here is like a validation of what I have had for some time. I liked what you said about not focusing on the messenger. I remember the quote: I pray all the time, not because I am so good, but because I am not!” Alan Kardec also said that we are often given spiritual gifts like the ones described in II Corinthians 12, not because we are so special or holy. But rather we are given them to help us grow spiritually. Thank you for sharing this. hugs, pat

  3. Pingback: The Evidence of Things Unseen | Joel Hall: Simply Put

Leave a Reply

