Night Prayer

© Copyright 2007,  2011 by Joel R. Hall – All rights reserved

In deepest night the Spirit calls: “Awake!”
My weary mind proclaims “Tis but a dream…”
Then chill soaked memory causes me to shake,
And wakes me with the echoes of a scream.

So like a phantom passing through the night
I slip in silence to my secret place
To call upon the Spirit for insight
And ask the Truth to turn toward me His face,

That He might form within my mind and heart
The words His will would have me lift in prayer
To meet the need that tore my sleep apart
And finds me shivering in the cool night air.

The scream still echoes deep within my mind
Causing me to feel a deep despair
The sound begins to make my spirit grind
With sympathetic sorrow full of care.

And so I pray for whom I do not know
But knowing nonetheless the need is real
I lift my heart in love for one in woe
And feel the Spirit filling me with zeal.

O sovereign Lord who calls me in the night
Entreating me to heed the Spirit’s call,
Grant that with this late night prayer I might
Cause peace upon some troubled soul to fall.

© Copyright 2007,  2011 by Joel R. Hall – All rights reserved

About Joel Hall

Onward through the fog!
This entry was posted in Poetry, Spiritual Living and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

