Once Broken

© Copyright 2007,  2011 by Joel R. Hall – All rights reserved

Once a mirror’s broken,
Once it has a crack,
All mending efforts are but token,
And never bring it back.

O, if it’s not all cracked to bits,
And hung back in its place,
This remnant, salvaged by your wits,
Will still reflect your face.

But no amount of sorrow,
No amount of glue,
Will find you gazing on the morrow,
In a mirror that looks new.

Once a trust is broken,
Regardless of intent,
There are no words that can be spoken,
To fully mend the rent.

O, if the damage is but slight,
And if forgiveness sought,
There’s hope that given time you might,
Repair the damage wrought,

But like that broken mirror, friend,
It’s never quite like new,
So if you’re given trust to tend,
Be careful what you do.

© Copyright 2007,  2011 by Joel R. Hall – All rights reserved

About Joel Hall

Onward through the fog!
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Once Broken

  1. Taylor Hoover says:

    Wow Joel, I love this poem. I just went through the hardest breakup of my life where my fiancee cheated on me, and this poem really sums up how I felt. I could not bring myself to marry him, knowing that I don’t think I could even trust him again. So sad, but I really enjoyed reading this.

  2. Joel Hall says:

    This poem was born of a friend’s betrayal that just about killed me, so I totally get your feelings toward your ex-fiance. I suspect you made the right choice. If you can’t trust someone during an engagement, when most people tend to be on their best behavior, then you would simply be asking for heartache if you were to proceed with the marriage. Maybe you should share this poem on facebook to make clear how you feel.

  3. Taylor Hoover says:

    Ok I keep reading this poem during this time in my life because it speaks to my situation so much, and I actually sent it to him, my ex-fiance, because it so beautifully sums up how I feel. It is so true and so sad!!! How come people give into sin so easily?? Ugh sin……..so so so disasterous what it does in lives! Thanks Adam!!!!

  4. Joel Hall says:

    If you haven’t read it already, be sure to read The Robot Parable (https://joelhall.wordpress.com/2011/07/04/the-robot-parable/) which addresses the nature of sin as well as our born in sense of isolation from relationship that gives us a sense of personal purpose and meaning. This is what drives us to sinful action. I am so sorry for the pain of betrayal you have had to endure. Just know that this too shall pass, and that He has great things in store for you.

Leave a Reply

