Mirror Me

© Copyright 2006,  2011 by Joel R. Hall – All rights reserved

I stand before my mirror me
and gaze in silent wonder deep into
those wells of deepest blue…
questions,
passions,
hopes and dreams,
fears and doubt
swirl about,
twirl about,
swirl about.
Is it I who thinks those thoughts,
dreams those dreams,
Feels those passions?
Or is it mirror me
gazing back in silent wonder deep into
my wells of deepest blue…

Am I me or am I you?

The mirror knows but will not speak
save only what my lips will form or
what it forms upon them.

How is it I can be reborn while living yet
and see you standing fully formed
with my mind hidden full within your depths?

The mirror knows but will not speak
save only this:
“You are not what you see there in reverse.”

© Copyright 2006,  2011 by Joel R. Hall – All rights reserved

About Joel Hall

Onward through the fog!
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

